Hello World!

Welcome to Liftnerd.WordPress.com, A Lift Nerd’s Photographic Dream! It is a new Web site dedicated to documenting ski lifts and other ropeways all over the Northeast USA! At some point in the future, it may cover other areas. However, this will take a while, because the author can only ski or hike so many ski areas or mountain bike parks each year. So far, I only have pictures from New Hampshire, but that will hopefully change. Unfortunately, the JPG files that my Kodak AZ252 produces take up a lot of memory. I have calculated that the pictures are about twice the size of a three-inch floppy disk’s capacity, to my chagrin. This means that, while the pictures can capture a staggering amount of detail (when I am very still while taking the picture), I cannot put all that many on this Web site quite yet, with only one gigabyte to work with. My hope is to someday get a domain (liftnerd.net), and with it more storage. Alas, it will be a while. In the meantime, I am actively taking pictures with my site in mind. To all viewers, enjoy!

15 responses to “Hello World!”

  1. Hey liftnerd! this is a pretty cool website, but for some time now, i have not been able to comment on liftblog. Whenever i try to comment, it teleports me to the top of the page and my comment will not appear. I have tried reaching out to peter about this, but unfortunately he has not responded back. Do you know how i could fix this?

    Like

    1. I am sorry, I do not know how to fix that. I have had something similar happen (the comment does not show up) every now and then. Most irritating. I will try to remember the details of the comment when that happens so that it will be easier to track down the problem. Maybe it is embedded photos?

      Like

      1. Yea, I believe that it is the spam filter

        Like

  2. I figured out that it seems to be my IP address causing trouble, whenever im at a different IP i can still comment. I think that the spam filter thought i was a bot because i was copy pasting alot of lift photos and IP banned me

    Like

    1. Well, at least you can comment on here! Do you happen to know how to make WordPress automatically approve comments? I don’t like making people wait a few days until I can approve their comment.

      Like

      1. Unfortunately no. I just tried to send out some comments with some photos that i took, but the photos are not showing up in the comments, hopefully peter approves them. I can use a VPN to comment now aswell, which is nice

        Like

  3. Sorry to bother you again, but could you go to the cuchara page and the whistler blackcomb page on liftblog and see if the photos in the comments i sent have shown up? For some reason, whenever i activate my VPN i can see the photos i sent, but whenever i turn in off i cannot see the comments i have sent, and i have no idea why.

    Like

    1. Happy to help! On the Cuchara page, only the map of Tuxedo Ridge shows up, while none of the other Tuxedo Ridge pictures showed up. Strange. And none of those on the Whistler-Blockcomb page appeared.

      Like

      1. darn, thats annoying.

        Like

    2. Also, would you like those Tuxedo Ridge pictures on here?

      Like

      1. Sure, give me your email and i can send them to you

        Like

  4. It would be great to see my photos on this site, just send me your email and i can send them to you

    Like

    1. Sure. It may be a little while, though

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started